>

>

Best Fragrance-Free Skincare Products (2026)

>

>

Best Fragrance-Free Skincare Products (2026)

>

>

Best Fragrance-Free Skincare Products (2026)

Best Fragrance-Free Skincare Products (2026)

Eight fragrance-free serums and treatments that still carry active ingredients: Vitamin C, Mandelic Acid, Retinoids, Azelaic Acid, PHA, and peptides, each checked against its ingredient list or the brand’s statement.

Key Takeaways

  • Reacting to fragrance doesn’t mean giving up Vitamin C, a Retinoid, or an exfoliating acid. Each of those comes in formulas with no fragrance entry on the ingredient list.

  • Our top pick is Maelove Glow Maker, a Vitamin C serum whose 22-ingredient INCI lists no fragrance, Parfum, or fragrance allergen.

  • U Beauty’s The SMOOTH Dynamic Wrinkle Defense Serum ranks #3: two Retinol Esters and four named peptides, and nothing fragrance-related anywhere in its 60 listed ingredients.

  • A smell isn’t proof of fragrance. Some active ingredients have their own scent, and Paula’s Choice says as much about its own formulas.

  • Add one active ingredient at a time, and test it on a small patch first.

Fragrance-free skincare lists tend to fill up with gentle cleansers and plain moisturizers. Those matter, but they leave out the people who react to scent and still want a treatment step: something for visible fine lines, dull-looking skin, or uneven-looking texture. This list is for them. Every product below is a serum or treatment built around an active ingredient, and every one is fragrance-free by its INCI, by the brand’s statement, or both. We say which for each.

Fragrance-Free Treatments: What to Check Beyond the Front Label

Front labels can mislead. An “unscented” product can still contain fragrance ingredients, the FDA warns on its fragrance page, and fragrance can appear on a label simply as “Fragrance.” The agency also notes there’s no federal definition of “fragrance-free.” So the ingredient list is the more useful check, and for treatment products, three things on it deserve a second look:

  • Fragrance allergens used for another job: Benzyl Alcohol, for example, is a common preservative and also one of the EU-labelled fragrance allergens the FDA lists. We left one well-known Vitamin C serum off this list for that reason, even though its brand calls it fragrance-free.

  • Plant extracts: citrus or flower extracts aren’t the same as a Parfum entry or an essential oil, but some people react to them. Where a pick lists them, we say so.

  • The ingredient’s own smell: Vitamin C, acids, and Retinoids can have a scent of their own. Paula’s Choice says its products are fragrance-free but “may have a unique scent due to its ingredients.”

The AAD’s dry-skin advice puts it plainly: “Dermatologists recommend using products labeled ‘fragrance-free.’” The label is a starting point; the INCI is the confirmation.

At a Glance

  1. Maelove Glow Maker Vitamin C Serum: best fragrance-free Vitamin C

  2. Naturium Mandelic Topical Acid 12%: best fragrance-free AHA

  3. U Beauty The SMOOTH Dynamic Wrinkle Defense Serum: best Retinol Ester and peptide serum without fragrance

  4. Paula’s Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment: best higher-strength Retinol with peptides

  5. Paula’s Choice 10% Azelaic Acid Booster: best for uneven-looking texture and visible redness

  6. The INKEY List PHA Toner: best gentle exfoliant to start with

  7. Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Serum Fragrance Free: best drugstore peptide and Niacinamide serum

  8. CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum: best budget Retinol

How We Compared These Products

We didn’t test any of these on skin. In October 2026 we read each brand page and ingredient list and compared:

  • The active ingredient and its stated strength, where the brand gives one.

  • How fragrance-free was confirmed: a full INCI with no Parfum, fragrance allergen, or essential oil, or the brand’s statement when the full list wasn’t shown.

  • Other ingredients worth knowing about, such as plant extracts or alcohol.

  • Directions, especially how often to start.

  • Price, from about $18 to $248.

Fragrance-Free Skincare Products Compared

Product

Active ingredient

Stated strength

Size and price

Fragrance-free confirmed by

Best for

Maelove Glow Maker

Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Ferulic Acid

15% Vitamin C

$33

Full INCI

Dull-looking skin

Naturium Mandelic Topical Acid 12%

Mandelic Acid, Niacinamide

12%

30 ml, $20

Full INCI

Uneven-looking texture

U Beauty The SMOOTH

Retinol Esters, four peptides

Not stated

30 ml, $248

Full INCI

Face and neck, visible fine lines

Paula’s Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol

Retinol, peptides

1%

$65

Brand statement

A step up in Retinol

Paula’s Choice 10% Azelaic Acid Booster

Azelaic Acid, Salicylic Acid

10% and 0.5%

$42

Brand statement

Visible redness, uneven-looking tone

The INKEY List PHA Toner

Gluconolactone, Niacinamide

3% and 3%

100 ml, $18

Full INCI

A first exfoliant

Olay Micro-Sculpting Serum Fragrance Free

Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Niacinamide

Not stated

1.7 oz, $36.65

Brand statement and partial INCI

Drugstore peptides

CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

Encapsulated Retinol, Niacinamide

Not stated

1 oz, $21.99

Brand statement

Retinol on a budget

1. Maelove Glow Maker Vitamin C Serum: Best Fragrance-Free Vitamin C

Maelove puts Ascorbic Acid second on a 22-ingredient INCI, with Glycerin sixth, Sodium Hyaluronate seventh, and Ferulic Acid 11th. The brand describes it as “15% Vitamin C + Vitamin E + Ferulic Acid.” There’s no Parfum, essential oil, or fragrance allergen on the list.

Key features:

  • 15% Vitamin C with Vitamin E and Ferulic Acid.

  • Hydrating support from Glycerin and Sodium Hyaluronate.

  • Morning and night: Maelove’s page says to apply it after cleansing every morning and to use it morning and night.

Best for: a fragrance-free Vitamin C step for dull-looking skin.

Tradeoff: it lists plant extracts, including grape seed and an orange callus culture extract. Those aren’t fragrance entries, but sensitive skin may want to patch test first.

Price: $33.

2. Naturium Mandelic Topical Acid 12%: Best Fragrance-Free AHA

Mandelic Acid is second on this 19-ingredient list, with Niacinamide fifth and Sodium Hyaluronate 10th. Naturium calls it “Perfect for those with sensitive skin and who may be sensitive to BHA,” and recommends a patch test.

Key features:

  • 12% Mandelic Acid, an AHA, plus Niacinamide.

  • Face, neck, and chest, avoiding the eye area.

  • Ease in: Naturium says to reduce frequency if mild sensitivity or redness occurs.

Best for: uneven-looking texture and dull-looking skin, for people who want an AHA without fragrance.

Tradeoff: lemon, orange, bilberry, sugar cane, and sugar maple extracts are on the list, and the FDA says AHAs may increase the skin’s sensitivity to the sun, so pair it with daily sunscreen.

Price: $20 for 30 ml.

3. U Beauty The SMOOTH Dynamic Wrinkle Defense Serum: Best Retinol Ester and Peptide Serum Without Fragrance

The SMOOTH is the U Beauty product we’ve confirmed fragrance-free from its full INCI, and it’s built around active ingredients for visible fine lines. The SMOOTH Dynamic Wrinkle Defense Serum, described by U Beauty as “Your Lifelong Wrinkle Regimen,” lists two Retinol Esters, Retinyl Linoleate (12th) and Retinyl Palmitate (29th), and four named peptides, from Copper Tripeptide-1 (11th) to Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 (34th). Glycerin sits second and Squalane fourth.

Across its 60 ingredients there’s no Parfum, no essential oil, and none of the EU-labelled fragrance allergens. U Beauty reports that 70% of 30 volunteers saw a visible improvement in wrinkles 15 minutes after first use, in an expert grader evaluation.

Key features:

  • Two Retinol Esters and four named peptides in one serum.

  • No fragrance entry on the full INCI.

  • Morning and evening: 1-2 pumps pressed onto face and neck, after the Resurfacing Compound and before The SUPER Hydrator in U Beauty’s order.

Best for: people who avoid fragrance and want one serum for visible fine lines, used on face and neck.

Tradeoff: U Beauty keeps it to the face and neck, with a separate product for the eye area, and its $248 price is the highest here. Plant extracts, including Centella Asiatica, are on the INCI.

Price: $248 for 30 ml (15 ml and 50 ml also listed).

4. Paula’s Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment: Best Higher-Strength Retinol With Peptides

Paula’s Choice describes this as an advanced 1% Retinol serum with skin-supportive peptides and Vitamin C, in a light lotion texture. The page names three peptides: Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-12, and Acetyl Dipeptide-1 Cetyl Ester.

Key features:

  • 1% Retinol with three peptides and Vitamin C.

  • A slow start: Paula’s Choice recommends a reduced rate for the first two weeks, then up to once a day.

  • Face and neck, avoiding the eyes.

Best for: someone who already uses a gentler Retinol and wants to step up, in a formula Paula’s Choice says is fragrance-free.

Tradeoff: the brand warns that some people may have a delayed sensitized reaction to 1% Retinol, and the full INCI didn’t load on the page, so we’re relying on Paula’s Choice’s brand-wide fragrance-free statement.

Price: $65.

5. Paula’s Choice 10% Azelaic Acid Booster: Best for Uneven-Looking Texture and Visible Redness

Azelaic Acid is “neither an AHA nor a BHA,” as Cleveland Clinic’s guide to facial acids notes, and a dermatologist there says it’s most effective in evening out the look of skin, including visible redness. The AAD also names it among ingredients that can fade the look of dark spots. Paula’s Choice pairs it with 0.5% Salicylic Acid in a “Lightweight, oil-free cream-gel texture.”

Key features:

  • Azelaic Acid plus 0.5% Salicylic Acid, per the brand.

  • Flexible use: once or twice daily, alone or mixed into a moisturizer or serum.

  • Under makeup: Paula’s Choice says it generally works well when applied in a thin layer.

Best for: visible redness and uneven-looking tone and texture.

Tradeoff: Paula’s Choice notes it may have a scent from its ingredients, and the full INCI didn’t load on the saved page.

Price: $42.

6. The INKEY List PHA Toner: Best Gentle Exfoliant to Start With

The INKEY List calls this “Sensitive skin’s favorite gentle exfoliant.” Its 17-ingredient INCI opens Water, Propanediol, Gluconolactone (a polyhydroxy acid, or PHA), and Niacinamide, with Glycerin sixth and Aloe after it.

Key features:

  • 3% PHA and 3% Niacinamide, per the brand.

  • Swept on with a cotton pad after cleansing.

  • Slow build: The INKEY List says to start one to two times a week.

Best for: a first exfoliating step for skin that reacts easily.

Tradeoff: The INKEY List says not to layer it with other exfoliating acids, Retinol, or Vitamin C, so it needs its own nights.

Price: $18 for 100 ml.

7. Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Serum Fragrance Free: Best Drugstore Peptide and Niacinamide Serum

It’s the fragrance-free version of Olay’s Micro-Sculpting Serum. Glycerin is third, Niacinamide fourth, Panthenol ninth, and Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 11th on the part of the list Olay shows.

Key features:

  • Niacinamide and a peptide in a lightweight texture.

  • Face and neck, morning and night, per Olay.

  • Easy to find in drugstores.

Best for: a peptide step on a drugstore budget, in the version Olay labels fragrance-free.

Tradeoff: Olay’s page shows a partial INCI, so the fragrance-free status comes from Olay’s statement.

Price: $36.65 (1.7 oz).

8. CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum: Best Budget Retinol

CeraVe combines encapsulated Retinol with licorice root extract, three Ceramides, and Niacinamide, and says it’s “Free of Added Fragrance.”

Key features:

  • Encapsulated Retinol with Ceramides NP, AP, and EOP.

  • Niacinamide in the same step.

  • PM only, per CeraVe.

Best for: a first Retinol on a budget, at night.

Tradeoff: CeraVe doesn’t state a Retinol percentage, so it’s hard to compare strength with pick 4.

Price: $21.99 for 1 oz.

How to Introduce Active Ingredients When Fragrance Bothers Your Skin

A slow start pays off with any active ingredient. The AAD’s guide to testing skincare products suggests trying a new product on a small patch, twice daily, for about a week to 10 days before using it more widely.

A workable order:

  • First, one gentle exfoliant (pick 6) once or twice a week.

  • A few weeks later, a morning Vitamin C (pick 1).

  • After that, a Retinoid at night (pick 3, 4, or 8), starting every other night, as the AAD suggests for Retinoids.

Keep exfoliating acids and Retinoids on separate nights. The INKEY List says this directly for its PHA Toner, and it’s a sensible default for the others.

Sun care with these active ingredients: the FDA’s page on alpha hydroxy acids says AHAs “may increase your skin’s sensitivity to the sun,” and recommends sunscreen, protective clothing, and limited sun exposure while using them and for a week afterward. Cleveland Clinic says Retinol makes skin more sensitive to sunlight, too. If you use pick 2, 4, or 8, a fragrance-free sunscreen belongs in the morning routine.

If you use more than one: keep it simple. Vitamin C in the morning, one Retinoid or one acid at night, and a peptide or Niacinamide serum on the nights in between is a simple pattern to build from this list.

When to See a Dermatologist

If a fragrance-free product still leaves you itchy or with a rash, a dermatologist can patch test you to find the specific ingredient. Ongoing redness may also have a cause that needs a diagnosis.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the best fragrance-free skincare products?

For a treatment step, our top pick is Maelove Glow Maker Vitamin C Serum, with no fragrance entry on its full INCI. U Beauty’s The SMOOTH is our pick for visible fine lines.

Can a fragrance-free product still have a smell?

Yes. Active ingredients like Vitamin C and some acids have their own scent. Paula’s Choice says its fragrance-free products may smell of their ingredients.

Is Benzyl Alcohol a fragrance?

It’s often used as a preservative, but it’s also one of the EU-labelled fragrance allergens the FDA lists. If your skin is very reactive, you may prefer to skip it.

Which active ingredient is gentlest to start with?

The INKEY List calls PHA, the Gluconolactone in pick 6, “The gentlest exfoliating acid.” Mandelic Acid is another option Naturium positions for sensitive skin.

Do fragrance-free treatments cost more?

Not on this list. Prices run from $18 for the PHA toner to $248 for The SMOOTH, and fragrance-free picks sit at every level.

Related Reading

About

An independent guide to what’s in your skincare and what it actually does.

Newsletter

New breakdowns every week

Get new ingredient guides and reviews in your inbox.

Keep reading

Nine barrier repair creams, balms, and overnight treatments sorted by the barrier system each one is built on: Ceramide, cholesterol, and fatty acid ratios, Petrolatum, Panthenol, Colloidal Oatmeal, Urea, and Niacinamide, with the skin type each suits.

Nine products sorted by the ingredients the AAD and Cleveland Clinic name most often: Retinoids, Vitamin C, Niacinamide, AHAs, Ceramides, and Hyaluronic Acid, with what each label actually lists.

Eight peptide eye creams sorted by texture, from gels and gel-creams to serums and a balm, with the peptides each label names and three price tiers from under $50 to $148.

Eight Hyaluronic Acid cleansers arranged as double-cleanse pairs: balms, oils, and micellar water to take off makeup and sunscreen first, then gels, creams, milks, and foams to finish, plus when one cleanse is enough.

Eight hydrating face serums sorted by texture and season: water-light formulas for humid weather and oily skin, cushioned ones for dry air and winter, and how to layer each under moisturizer.

Eight eye creams for the look of crow’s feet and under-eye lines, sorted by how each brand says to use it: nightly only, or morning and night, plus how to pair a Retinoid with a peptide eye cream.

Nine barrier repair creams, balms, and overnight treatments sorted by the barrier system each one is built on: Ceramide, cholesterol, and fatty acid ratios, Petrolatum, Panthenol, Colloidal Oatmeal, Urea, and Niacinamide, with the skin type each suits.

Nine products sorted by the ingredients the AAD and Cleveland Clinic name most often: Retinoids, Vitamin C, Niacinamide, AHAs, Ceramides, and Hyaluronic Acid, with what each label actually lists.

Eight peptide eye creams sorted by texture, from gels and gel-creams to serums and a balm, with the peptides each label names and three price tiers from under $50 to $148.

Eight Hyaluronic Acid cleansers arranged as double-cleanse pairs: balms, oils, and micellar water to take off makeup and sunscreen first, then gels, creams, milks, and foams to finish, plus when one cleanse is enough.

Get the Serum Syntax letter

One email a week with our newest ingredient breakdowns. You can unsubscribe anytime.

Get the Serum Syntax letter

One email a week with our newest ingredient breakdowns. You can unsubscribe anytime.

Get the Serum Syntax letter

One email a week with our newest ingredient breakdowns. You can unsubscribe anytime.

© 2026 Serum Syntax. All rights reserved.

Swirls of beige cream
Peach shapes on a cream backdrop
Beige podiums under a fern shadow
Rippled sand texture

© 2026 Serum Syntax. All rights reserved.

Swirls of beige cream
Peach shapes on a cream backdrop
Beige podiums under a fern shadow
Rippled sand texture

© 2026 Serum Syntax. All rights reserved.

Swirls of beige cream
Peach shapes on a cream backdrop
Beige podiums under a fern shadow
Rippled sand texture